|
The
libraries have access to a number of online databases. Upon your
registration through your library branch, you will be given a login
and password that will enable you to access these databases from
your home computer as well as the computers at the library. Registration
is important in order for libraries to continue to receive funding
for such databases. In some cases databases are trials that are
time-limited.
EBSCOhost
offers thousands of journal, magazine, newspaper titles with fully
searchable full text articles covering a vast array of subjects
in health, business, general information. Includes Searchasaurus
database for children.
LearningExpressLibrary.com
is a leading source for test preparation materials and interactive
practice exams based on official tests. Immediate scoring, answer
explanations, and individualized analysis of results.
The
West Virginia Statewide Library Catalog is a tool to search
for titles in libaries across the state. Most of these libraries
participate in Library Interloan. Contact your local librarian to
order the titles you are interested in. A fee is assessed for one-way
postage.
The
West Virginia Library homepage often lists trial databases.
Through mid December,
2002, the Pocahontas County Free Libraries have a database trial
through EBSCO on the following:
Novelist (fiction titles
all genres, reviews, reader's advisory section, etc.)
Novelist K-8 (similar to above with age-appropriate titles, teacher
lesson plans, lists)
Religion and Philosophy Collection (extensive collection of journals,
etc. in genre)
To access the above:
http://trial.epnet.com UserID:
s9231583 Password: trial
Links
This page will develop
links in the near future. These are a few for now.
The
Pocahontas Times is not only the county newspaper but has an
excellent searchable web site for looking up back issues. It also
has community links.
Hotsheet
is one of many general search sites for an array of services, search
engines, buying forums, download sites, etc.
|